The Ride Signature Series

 ellsworthbike.jpg

I got a new bike recently and in about a week, the dérailleur had become misaligned so I had to take it in. The transmission would hop gears everytime I went higher than 3rd. The gear changing on the bike is more than I had to worry about on my last bike–a BMX model with a single gear. So I’m rather disappointed about my purchase but at least it didn’t cost $3995 like the bike I’m about to tell you about.

The Ride is the actual name of the bike. As arrogant as it is for calling itself The Ride, it’s really quite cool. The transmission is based loosely off of sketches done by the famous Leonardo da Vinci. The technology behind the NuVinci CVP is beyond my understanding, but just know that you’ll never worry about your gears again. It will always have you pedaling at the right speed whether your doing 25mph down a hill or have just started pedaling.

The styling is unique– the curved upper bar resembles the gas tank on a chopper motorcycle. I always like seeing a good amount of carbon fiber too.

2 Responses

  1. Hi Jim,

    I am in the market for a new bike myself now, for a 2×11 mi daily commute, and one of the models has the NuVinci transmission. NuVinci was new to me, so I began researching it online—and it seems new to everyone, and there are not many reviews or internal hub-comparisons online.

    Since 11 mi is a quite long ride, its efficiency is essential to me, as my alternative is taking the bus (and the price of the bike would break-even, in 18 months compared to taking bus). I have failed to find anything on its efficiency compared to other internal hubs, as to evident drag.

    Drag would be like cycling with flat tires, you know.

    What is your opinion on the NuVinci transmission system having known it for some time?

  2. I’ve been using the NuVinci for some time and I get the feeling that it is more efficient than other bike gears. It’s just a feeling as I can’t measure it. But I now pedal at the same speed and force for the whole journey. Accelerating from standstill, on the flat and up and down hills. It’s weird at first. But once used to it, its great. The only downside is when stopping. It takes a couple of twists to put it in lowest gear. It’s minor and you get used to it though.

Leave a Reply

