Battlefield 3 Rumors

battlefield2.jpg

Okay, I’ll admit that I’m not the best player at Battlefield 2. Actually in my ring of friends, I’m the worst.

But I’m quite excited for the next PC installment of the Battlefield franchise. There’s a list of rumors (full list here) on what the new game will be like and it sounds like the game is gonna be quite good. The game is essentially the same as BF2 with tickets, flags, kits (though Special Forces has been eliminated) and a modern-day setting. But this time around, there will only be two factions: Middle Eastern Coalition(MEC) and NATO. There are going to be more weapons and more vehicles. And unlocks will get you upgrades like armor, camouflage and ammo. Getting your friends to join the same game will be simplified by utilizing the in-game IM client/friend list.

And probably the best news for me: it’s gonna run on OSX Leopard! I might just wait to get my MacBook Pro close to release just to make sure I can run the game smoothly. For those of you who run Windows, the game is going to require Vista. Sorry….

Expect the game sometime in late 2008.

And remember these are just rumors.

4 Responses

  1. Battlefield 3 is going to be awesome!

    http://enterbf3.com

    I just got this in my email!

    If anyone gets PCGamer, there was a statement of “Stay tuned for the next issue, you won’t want to miss it!” Ha! This is awesome, also the graphics in the background are not from the game, an actual soldier.

    A few points:

    – “Our spies tell us…” That’s a good sign.

    – The new engine will be expanding on the current frostbite one (exploding buildings and long view distances.)

    – MEC and NATO forces verified

    – Ranks, Commanders, the good ‘ole stuff!

    Article in typing: http://www.enterbf3.com/viewtopic.php?p=22#22

  2. Thanks for the info Almondj! I can’t wait!

  3. […] This an image from bf3? I think the image is a bf3 photo because I found this Battlefield 3 Rumors asterisk go to the […]

  4. Sorry to disappoint you, but it is not an image of BF3, but from BF: Modern Combat, a BF2 equivalent for consoles.

    You can read all about it here:
    http://bf3.gamestrafe.com/

Leave a Reply

