Leatherman Wave

leatherman wave

My Victorinox Swiss Army has failed me. It seems that the blades are now stuck and everytime I try to pull them out, I fear that after a certain point, they’ll suddenly loosen up and I’ll cut my hand open. We can’t have that, can we?

So I’ve done my research, and I’ve found my replacement: The Leatherman Wave. It seems to be the multi-tool of choice of those who carry Nalgenes and Timbuk2 messenger bags. These are the sort of people who know quality and I trust their judgement.

The Leatherman Wave does more than my Victorinox could ever dream of doing. Its list of features is comprised of pliers, wire cutters, wire stripper, two sorts of knives, a saw, a pair of scissors, two sorts of files, a small and large bit driver, screwdriver, ruler (metric and US), a bottle/can opener, lanyard attachment and two double-ended bits.

Being that the two Victorinox multi-tools that I’ve owned were given to me, I was never aware of how much these things cost. The Leatherman retails at $80, so of course I had to find a way to get it for cheaper. And the answer to my problems seems to always be on eBay. I found a pair for a much more fair $50.

I was a Boy Scout very briefly but the one thing I did take from the experience was it’s best to be prepared.

[Photo was taken by Al Giordino]

One Response

  1. leatherman tool

    Hi. Very nice blog. I\’ve been reading your other entries all day long..lol.

Leave a Reply

