Aya Takano

I Like The Hollows Of Buildings

I’ve really enjoyed watching the evolution of Japanese artist Aya Takano. She uses acrylic and diluted gouache paints to create fictional, erotic, and sullen images featuring thin, big-eyed Geisha girls– there’s a taste of sex, sadness, and the future all at once. She has been showing her work all over the place in the past few years, most recently at the MOCA in Lyon, France, and currently at a group show at the Galerie Emmanuel Perrotin in Miami. I’ve heard that she may be expanding her feminized world in the near future, so maybe some men will be popping up in her new works. For now, Aya, along with her cohorts at the Kaikai Kiki Collective, are really setting the bar high in the world of modern Japanese art. – Josh Spear

More artwork after the jump.

 Moon

Earth

2 Responses

  1. Is that bad anime?

  2. I don’t look it as bad. I think it’s more like an adaptation of the traditional anime look that suits the artist’s style. I actually rather enjoy the new take on it, though it may not be as crisp and clean as the popular cartoons that Japanese animation studios may produce. The kind of childlike quality to it shows the pieces and the artist in playful and young light.

    Wow, I sound like an art douche. But I do mean everything I said.

Leave a Reply

